FRIDA 2016 Call for Proposals: Apply for Awards, Grants and Scale-Ups!

  • 50% Off Select Filtration Systems at Aquasana

  • FRIDA has launched its 2016 call for proposals and is inviting applicants for three funding programs in order to contribute towards regional development in Latin America and the Caribbean and provide capacity building and networking opportunities to civil society organizations, enterprises, governments and universities that articulate the potential of information and communications technology.

    FRIDA, under this call for proposals will provide USD 235K in the form of:

    • FRIDA Awards
    • FRIDA Grants
    • FRIDA Scale-Ups

    FIRDA’s Focus Areas

    All proposals must be in line with FRIDA’s areas of focus:

    • Technical innovation for Internet access and development
    • Internet and technologies for social inclusion, strengthening democracy and the exercise of rights and freedoms
    • Internet and technology for social and economic development

    Key Dates (For all programs)

    • Call for project proposals opens: Monday, 14 March 2016
    • Deadline for early submissions*: Wednesday, 13 April 2016
    • Final deadline for submitting project proposals: Friday, 13 May 2016
    • Selection process: 14 May – 14 June 2016
    • Announcement of successful projects: Wednesday, 15 June 2016
    • Contract signing: June-July 2016

    Eligibility Criteria( For all programs)

    • Applications will be accepted from teams representing civil society organizations, public and private universities, government agencies and private enterprises whose activities are in line with the program’s priorities. Individual applications will not be accepted.
    • Applying organizations must be based in Latin America or the Caribbean.The FRIDA Awards seek to acknowledge innovative initiatives and practices in Latin America and the Caribbean that have made concrete contributions through the use of information and communications technologies and have had a proven impact on the region’s social and economic development.Award Information

      The FRIDA Award consists of a USD 5,000 cash prize plus full travel and accommodation for one representative of each project to attend the awards ceremony, which will be held in Mexico during the 2016 Internet Governance Forum.

      Criteria for Winning Initiatives

      • All project proposals must have a technological component through which they seek to solve development issues
      • Proposed solutions must be innovative, i.e., they must present new strategies, notions, ideas, methods and processes that respond to social needs and can broaden and strengthen communities
      • Successful initiatives must have a proven impact, i.e., they must submit indicators and evidence that support the creation of value for the target communities.

    FRIDA Grants provide funding to support research projects and innovative initiatives that seek to explore the potential of information and communications technology for promoting the region’s social and economic development and Internet access.

    Funding Information

    • FRIDA ha USD 145,000 to support six projects, each of which will receive between USD 20,000 and USD 30,000 in the form of non-reimbursable grants.
    •  Successful projects must be executed within a period of twelve months, which may be extended to fifteen.

    Grant Categories

    • Subvenciones IDRC: Through the IDRC Grants, FRIDA deliver three financial support of US $ 25,000 each to initiatives that seek to explore new ideas, test prototypes and test potential new and innovative uses of ICT to promote development and access to internet.
    • Internet Society Grants: Through the Internet Society Grants, FRIDA will provide support of between US $ 20,000 and US $ 30,000 to two initiatives. Projects should focus on security and resilience in relation to two of the main pillars of the Internet:
      • Managing names: through innovative approaches in DNSSEC that improve confidence in internet – based services.
      • Routing : exploring options for deploying secure routing protocols (RPKI and BGP) and traffic exchange activities.For this grant, it will be required to projects that document the history behind its implementation. To this end, the selected projects will receive additional funding for the realization of a video communication summarizing results. One representative from each winning project will receive a trip and complete stay to attend the Internet Governance Forum 2016 to be held in Mexico.
    • Grants LACNIC: Through Grants LACNIC, FRIDA will provide US $ 20,000 to an initiative to address challenges in connection with the transition and deployment of IPv6 in the region.

    Applicants must accompany the proposal with a budget and work schedule, and propose concrete processes for measuring impact.

    FRIDA is inviting for- or not-for-profit organizations seeking to join forces and market strategies to find solutions to social problems for its FRIDA Scale-Ups in order to strengthen social enterprises that have developed successful technological solutions by allowing them to gain scale.

    Social enterprises may apply that have successfully developed innovative technological solutions which address social issues and/or promote Internet access. In order to apply, innovations must have a proof of concept, i.e., they must have demonstrated their potential to address a specific social problem that warrants further scale-up.

    Proposed innovations must be in line with FRIDA’s areas of focus mentioned on the first page.

    Funding Information

    • In 2016, FRIDA will support two scale-up projects, providing each with a non-reimbursable fund of USD 40,000.
    • The two selected projects will also benefit from a series of institutional strengthening and capacity building activities valued at approximately UDD 10,000 and aimed at providing the knowledge, tools and contacts needed to further advance successful initiatives

    FRIDA Scale-Ups will be selected based on an open call for projects, though priority will be given to projects that have already received FRIDA funding in past editions of the program.

    Application Procedure for All Programs

    • Interested applicants can complete their applications online for all the programs by filling out the application form given on the website.
    • For FRIDA Awards, apply here.
    • For FRIDA Grants, apply here.
    • For FRIDA Scale-Ups, apply here.


  • Magic Cabin

  • Previous Cape Town
    Next European Union’s EIDHR Program: CBSS for Enhancement of Democracy & Human Rights in South Africa

    No Comment

    Leave a reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *