Teams who will not be playing the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

  • 50% Off Select Filtration Systems at Aquasana

  • Written by:

    Pratibha bissht

    England and Wales will be hosting the twelfth edition of cricket’s greatest spectacle in 2019 across eleven venues.
    Kenya – Though East African team at the inaugural World Cup in 1975 comprised of players from Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania, Kenya as a Nation appeared in the World Cup for the very first time in the 1996 edition after attaining the One Day International (ODI) status. Though the team under Maurice Odumbe crashed out of the tournament in the Group stages, they defeated the mighty Caribbeans at Pune by 73 runs. They finished six in Group A after losing five out of their six matches.
    They were once again knocked out in the Group stages at the 1999 World Cup, where they lost all five group games against South Africa, India, Zimbabwe, England and Sri Lanka but the African nation came back stronger when they co hosted the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup along with South Africa and Zimbabwe, by reaching the semi finals in that world cup. They won four out of their six Pool B matches and made it to the Super Six stages where they managed one win out of three games.
    They eventually lost to the Sourav Ganguly led Indian team in the semi finals at Kingsmead, Durban.
    The team has also won ICC six Nations Challenge twice in 2000 and in 2002.
    Zimbabwe – The African Nation’s first ever Cricket World Cup appearance was in England in the 1983 edition of the tournament. It was the third edition of the game’s biggest spectacle and England played hosts to it for a third consecutive time after hosting the inaugural edition in 1975 and the subsequent edition four years later. Though they won their first ever World Cup game against the Australians by 13 runs at Nottingham, in the four team Group B standings they finished last.
    The win against Australia was their only win in their inaugural World Cup appearance because they lost the remaining five matches. In one of the group encounters against the eventual winners India, Zimbabwe were on course for a victory after restricting India to 17- 5 but skipper Kapil Dev’s heroics (175* off 138) propelled India to a 31 run win at Tunbridge Wells. Zimbabwe exited the World Cup in group stages in the next three editions (1987, 1992 and 1996) before making it to the Super Six stage in 1999.
    They went on to finish sixth in the 2003 edition when they co hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup along with South Africa and Kenya. A series of poor performances saw them exiting the World Cup in group stages at the 2007 (West Indies), 2011 (India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh) and 2015 (Australia and New Zealand) editions. Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the 2019 World Cup after finishing third in the 2018 ICC Cricket World Cup qualifiers which they hosted in March 2018 behind Afghanistan and West Indies.
    Ireland – The 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup hosted by West Indies was Ireland’s first ever appearance . It was a ‘Dream World Cup’ debut for the Irish players, as they finished eighth in the 16 team tournament having reached the Super 8 stage. Ireland’s first ever World Cup game ended in a dramatic tie against Zimbabwe at Jamaica after the teams finished on 221 in 50 overs. In their second Group D fixture against the 1992 World Champions Pakistan at the Sabina Park, Ireland registered a famous and surprising three wicket win (D/L method) chasing 128 (revised target) for victory in 47 overs.
    This win garnered millions of fans for the Irishmen across the cricketing fraternity. They were praised for the quality of play, spirit of cricket and most importantly for believing in their team’s abilities. In the 2011 edition of the World Cup, they finished 11th out of 14 teams after winning just two out of their six Group B matches. They registered victories against England by three wickets and Netherlands by six wickets thereby finishing sixth in the seven team Group B standings.
    In the game against England at Bengaluru, Ireland chased down a target of 328 in 49.1 overs. In the 2015 World Cup co hosted by Australia and New Zealand, Ireland finished ninth among 14 teams winning three wins out of six matches there by exiting the tournament in group stage.
    they finished fifth at the 2018 ICC World Cup qualifiers this March.
    Netherlands – The Netherlands’ first ever World Cup appearance was in the 1996 Cricket World Cup co hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The team finished twelfth among the 12 participating Nations after losing all five group stage matches against South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, England and United Arab Emirates. After failing to qualify for the 1999 ICC Cricket World Cup, they made it to the 2003 edition co hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya where they once again exited in the group stages with just one win out of six matches.
    At the 2007 World Cup, they failed to progress beyond the Group stages after winning a solitary game out of three group matches. The Netherlands thus finished twelfth among the 16 nations at the 2007 edition.
    A disastrous 2011 campaign saw the Netherlands finish thirteenth out of 14 teams after failing to win a single game out of their six group matches. They finished seventh among the ten teams in the 2018 ICC World Cup qualifiers held in March 2018.
    Scotland – The Scots’ first ever World Cup appearance was at the 1999 ICC Cricket World Cup, which was won by the Australian. The team finished last among the twelve Nations after losing all their five group matches. After failing to qualify for the 2003 edition, they made it to the 2007 World Cup in West Indies where they finished fifteenth as they lost all their three group matches.
    Though they failed to make it to the 2011 World Cup, they booked a spot for the 2015 edition co hosted by Australia and New Zealand. Under Preston Mommsen, the team finished last among the fourteen teams after losing all their six group matches against New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, England and Afghanistan. They finished fourth in the 2018 ICC World Cup qualifiers earlier this year and there by failed to qualify for the marquee event.

  • Magic Cabin

  • Previous Kenya mining industry set for a boom
    Next Water Crisis in Kenya

    No Comment

    Leave a reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *